All Men Should Honor These 20 Dating Rules

My wife standing by my car before a beautiful dinner. Mistral, Boston.

All Men Should Honor These 20 Dating Rules

There are patterns that one sees when spending over a decade having conversations about dating and relationships — and in modern times, these patterns are not always of the hopeful variety.

It’s been just over 10 years since I started my blog, and over that time I’ve had writing published in multiple languages be read over 100 million times, written a book, coached hundreds of people, and given my opinions to the media…

The one pattern I have noticed emerge from all of this, is:

“Men don’t want to put effort into dating anymore.”

I’ve heard it in every culture, from virtually every female client, I’ve even seen it with my own eyes.

One of the reasons I started writing in the first place was to help men step up their game when it came to dating and relationships. To set themselves apart. To build stronger relationships. To operate with a higher sense of integrity and dignity.

The points I outline in this article are not rocket science. I did not invent them. In fact, they used to be common practice, and common sense.

For some reason, though, that all seems to have faded.

But, it doesn’t have to.

We can maintain the decorum and etiquette of the past, raise our standards and expect more from ourselves, show the women in our lives that we are willing to put in the effort.

What, then, are the lost charms of the past that we should work to modernize and keep alive in the present?

Note: Many points in this article are quite literally tasks one can perform before, during, or after a date. Others are conceptual to illustrate an idea or philosophy. All, though, are designed to help you stand out from the rest of the lazy men who don’t think being romantic is worth the effort. Prove them wrong.

Note 2: Some of you are going to think some of these points are old school…and maybe they are. But, they are presented alongside hundreds of articles written about respect, equality, teamwork, female empowerment, and building a life with an equal partner. Any suggestion herein to do something “for” a woman (such as pulling out a chair or opening a door), is purely out of adoration and respect, never with ulterior motives or patronizing undertones.

Also, today is Tuesday! Which means tomorrow I’ll be sending out the latest edition of The Next Level newsletter. It’s for subscribers only, so make sure to join up here.

You’re awesome.